I HAVE been working hard this year!

You've got to have a bigger dick than the next guy.

Oh yes, I’ve been doing a lot of this in the past few days. I’ve also decided not to decipher any of them for you. No sir, you can draw your own opinions to what these images mean. Even if you think they’re just a bunch of Photoshop fuckery and nothing more!

I had a bit of a dry spot over Christmas where I felt zero inspiration to do anything. So all the rules have gone out the window. I love making this kind of thing right now so I’m going for it, baby! I may also have started listening to Trent Reznor‘s music a lot more recently. I say Reznor and not just Nine Inch Nails because it extends in to How To Destroy Angels too. Not to mention the brilliant cover of Immigrant Song he did with Atticus Ross and Karen O.

So yes, wonderful fuel for the creative brain worms that have been hard at work the past few days. An esteemed colleague in up-fuckery introduced me to an online image corruption utility that yields interesting and unpredictable results by taking bits and pieces of file data and deleting/swapping/altering them. I spent a good few hours uploading different images and seeing what results I got. If this were for a university project, I’d call it damned good research.

 And thus I’ve been looking at the results it gives and recreating them. One that I really love is the rainbow lines that can appear when altering files. It takes me back for when I was a kid playing on my dad’s Commodore 64. (Oh yeah, I had top of the line gaming systems when I was a kid. You can take your Playstation…)

You’d pop the tape in, press play and then wait what (as an impatient child) felt like a lifetime for the game to load. Then you select that you want to play as the warrior woman and it’d take another half hour to finish loading.

There’d be all the colours flashing across the screen and luckily as a kid I was content enough to just sit and stare at them. As mesmerising as fire! Of course, I could never make it out of the hanger bay in Raid Over Moscow

So anyway, these rainbow lines are cool.

Like bow ties and Minecraft.

 

But I’m not just blasting and blazing with the distortion effects. I’m still thinking of other ideas. I had this one around about the same time as the pirate ship one from my last post, using the same idea but this time with a Bioshock theme. I do need to play that game again. I’m happy how this one turned out and it was good to have an excuse to use THAT ART DECO FONT.

You know, that one that’s everywhere. Even on things that have nothing to do with the ’50s or books that aren’t even slightly art deco in any other way. It’s nice to see people using appropriate typefaces for what they’re doing right? Y’know, I’m sure there’s someone out there who’d based their entire career on the world’s hatred for Comic Sans. They ONLY use Comic Sans. For everything.

Hell, they’d save a fortune on paying for fonts.

Tilt your screen.

It keeps growing, and I can feel it breathe.

But, of course, I came back to the corruption with a vengeance and I’ve been going wild with it again. A little more conceptual this time. Decided to ‘flesh’ them out a bit more.

"Only the moon howls."

 

One of the things I like the most is when I make something cool looking by accident. I was playing around with an image of a forest and ended up coming up with this. It was tempting to write “Winter is Coming” on the top but I’m trying to stay away from having too many pop culture references in my work! I watch too much tv and film as it is, without incorporating it in to the things I make as well.

I like adding shadows to images. The wolf walking in from the side fit the image, and kept it from looking too plain. I like the quote too, but I’m not sure about the placement of it. I may come back to this and/or try to do more in this specific style.

Hm? Whassat? That’s a lot of work so far? Why yes, yes it is. And I’m not even done yet.

I’ve been crazy productive this week. If only this were for a job or university project!

 

Wait...this looks familiar...

 

Well…this one actually is for a university project. I realised that I could actually use the style I’ve been working with for my university project so I added this one in to this piece to see what it looked like. It’s not as direct as before, but the technological corruption/distortion definitely works for the project.

I should probably corrupt the HUD for the thing as well. Or should I? Is it better to have just the person and background distorted or the whole thing? It’s got a nice contrast to it either way. The brightly coloured, highly distorted image on the iPhone screen and then the clean, sleek, monotone phone itself along with a nice grid for a background.

It’s a shame that I only started doing this so late in the project. It would have been great if I’d had this idea from the start, but perhaps I can use this style more in the next project I get instead.

 

And so, I leave you now with an image I just finished and bid you goodnight for another day. I only just fixed my sleep pattern and here I am at 3am still doing things. There has to be a society somewhere where I can work at night instead of in the day.

Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Busy bee!

    It occurred to me the other day, your trapped-in-technology theme reminds me of the prison/prism in Superman The Movie. General Zod and his buddies were criminals though and deserved it. Your idea suggests we are enslaved by our gadgets and our addiction to technology.

    Reply
    • Yeah, I thought that when I first started making them too! The Phantom Zone! A couple of them kind of suggest that it’s the technology’s fault that we’re trapped with the little messages I put in (like the iPod one) but really I prefer that ones that show that it’s our own fault.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • > This is a side blog compared to my Tumblr blog, where I post pretty much everything I make. Happy to help you guys out if you get in to trouble with glitchin' or whatever! Drop me a line on here, on Tumblr, or via email (Joltanine@gmail.com).

    > Facebook
    > Tumblr
    > Website (under construction)
    > Shirts
    > More glitch merch!
    > MORE more glitch merch!

  • Contact

    I love meeting new people! Feel free to contact me via email at Jamie.Boulton@QuestionSomething.com or Celador_@hotmail.co.uk
  • Tweet Tweet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and you'll get notifications of new posts via email!

    Join 325 other followers

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 325 other followers

