The Ratio Is Good!

I’ve worked on more pieces than there have been days so far this year. That’s the kind of trend that I’m happy to keep up. Fooling around in Photoshop a bit more, trying out some more distortion effects and throwing around what ideas I’ve got.

Because who doesn't love pirates?

So I’m in a taxi at about 4 in the morning on New Year’s Day when the tire bursts. The driver manages to make a botch job, but to save him having to go so far I tell him he can drop me off at the top of the hill near where I live and I’ll walk down from there. It’s a good five minutes, but five minutes of no distractions with a comfortable amount of alcohol induced inspiration makes for decent idea-conceiving conditions.

I’m not sure if it was the rum in my system or just the fact that I like pirates and the ocean anyway, but this is what I decided to do.

There’ll be a similar image referring to the lighthouse from Bioshock incoming sometime soon I’m sure.

A much better quote from The Joker.

My good friend Martin went to a fancy dress party on New Year’s Eve. While I was at a club losing track of my waistcoat he was celebrating dressed as The Joker. I felt like experimenting some more, so I used a photo of him as a base and just went wild. I made more good use of the shattered glass effect I’ve been using, and played around with more ways of distorting an image.

I wanted to put some text on to the image, as I so often do, but definitely wanted to stay away from “Why so serious?” Don’t get me wrong, that was a great film and he made a great Joker, but he isn’t my favourite depiction of the character. So I went back to a great quote from The Killing Joke.

“All it takes is one bad day to reduce the sanest man alive to lunacy. That’s how far the world is from where I am. Just one bad day. You had a bad day once. Am I right? I know I am. I can tell. You had a bad day and everything changed.” – The Joker

It was shortly after that I decided it was time to sleep. But my brain? Well, my brain decided there is more to do. There are more ideas and experiments to try out and issues to work with. I must stay up. Yes, stay up and do more.

Have I been on iamtryingtobelieve.com? Maybe...

Jamie, out.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. williamstafford

     /  January 2, 2012

    Killing Joke = best graphic novel evah!

    Have you seen comedian Daniel Sloss dressed as the Joker? Worth a google.

    Reply
    • For some ungodly reason I don’t actually own a copy. I DID but it seems to have disappeared in to the void somewhere…
      I also need to get my hands on a copy of Arkham Asylum: A serious house on serious Earth. I’ve become quite a McKean fan lately, on top of enjoying a good dose of Batman.
      I have not! I shall have to look him up!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

  • > This is a side blog compared to my Tumblr blog, where I post pretty much everything I make. Happy to help you guys out if you get in to trouble with glitchin' or whatever! Drop me a line on here, on Tumblr, or via email (Joltanine@gmail.com).

    > Facebook
    > Tumblr
    > Website (under construction)
    > Shirts
    > More glitch merch!
    > MORE more glitch merch!

  • Contact

    I love meeting new people! Feel free to contact me via email at Jamie.Boulton@QuestionSomething.com or Celador_@hotmail.co.uk
  • Tweet Tweet

  • Enter your email address to subscribe and you'll get notifications of new posts via email!

    Join 327 other followers

  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 327 other followers

